Philippine regular and special holidays for 2014
By: Erlinda Olivia P. Tiu
Wednesday 1st of January 2014

TACLOBAN CITY Leyte, Jan 1 (PIA) – The year 2013 has come to an end. The Filipinos join the entire world in welcoming 2014. Even before the year ended, President Benigno Simeon Aquino III has issued Proclamation No. 655 declaring the regular holidays, special non-working days, and special holidays for the year 2014.

This will allow the businessmen, various offices, both public and private, and schools to plan their activities.

Notable is that Malacañang has declared January 31, 2014, Friday, a special non-working day in observance of Chinese New Year. In issuing the Proclamation, President Aquino noted the “the Chinese nationals all over the world will celebrate Spring Festival, popularly known as the Chinese New Year, which is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines by both Chinese Filipinos and ordinary Filipinos as well.

The President added that the joint celebration is a manifestation of “our solidarity with our Chinese Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people. "

“January 31, 2014 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest,” the proclamation stated.

The Proclamation 655 listed a total of 10 regular holidays, 7 special non-working days and one special holidays for all schools nationwide.The following are the 2014 regular, special non-working days, and special holiday for schools only.

Regular Holidays include:

    New Year’s Day – January 1 (Wednesday)

    Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Wednesday)

    Maundy Thursday – April 17

    Good Friday – April 18

    Labor Day – May 1 (Thursday)

    Independence Day – June 12 (Thursday)

    National Heroes Day – August 25 (Last Monday of August)

    Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Sunday)

    Christmas Day – December 25 (Thursday)

    Rizal Day – December 30 (Tuesday)

Special non-working days include:

    Chinese New Year – January 31 (Friday)

    Black Saturday – April 19

    Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Thursday)

    All Saints Day – November 1 (Saturday)

    Additional special non working days – December 24 (Wednesday) and December 26 (Friday)

    Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Wednesday)

Special Holiday for all schools:

    EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Tuesday)

According to Malacañang the proclamation declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha “shall hereafter be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.”

To this end, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) shall inform the Office of the President on which days the holidays shall respectively fall.” (PIA 8)

National Nutrition Honor Award for Maasin City
70th Leyte Gulf Lanings anniversary
70th Leyte Gulf Landings anniversary
70th Leyte Gulf Landings anniversary
70th Leyte Gulf Landings anniversary
Flag Counter